[RM2K3] I DON'T UNDERSTAND TIMING!

Pages: 1
So basically when you walk into the city I made, I have a Show Picture that says "Hudson City" that is white and flashes above, then slowly fades away. It's just like the title of the town. In my Move Picture I want it to be 0% transparency and last for 4 seconds and have a second Move Picture that has 100% transparency that lasts for 4 seconds so that it fades away. It works, except that it pretty much skips over the 0% transparency one, and so it fades immediately. It just jumps down to the bottom line. So, I was thinking of using timers but I don't really understand how they work. And the "Wait..." worked except that then my character can't move.

I'm a total noobie. I just started this program a few days ago. Oh, and it's on event touch.

Thanks for you help! =)
author=Sated
http://rpgmaker.net/tutorials/123/

Thank you! Although, I haven't seen a box for "Wait for completion"...
author=Sated
When you use "Move Picture" there should be a check-box that you can tick to have the rest of the event wait for the "Move Picture" command to finish. It should say "Wait Until Done" or something like that.

Oh! Right. When I click that, my character doesn't move.
From the top:
Make an auto-start event. On page 1, use all the default start conditions (no boxes checked) and add your show picture: 0% and move picture: 100%+wait. Next, erase that picture. Then, at the very end of your event script, turn a switch ON (any switch will do). Create a second page that is NOT auto-start. Set it to action key and give it a starting condition for when that switch mentioned previously is turned on. Save the event. That's all you need there.

Next, go into all of your teleport events where you teleport off that map, and turn off that switch.