SMALL TALK FOR RANDOM NPCS

Pages: 1
Hello, guys.
so, i'm doing a game who already have a story, graphics, and a lot os stuff made, but as the game will have a non-linear feel, i need to put alot of NPCs in the scenario, and to give some little personality to them, but i'm not good at thinking what topics of small talk should be there?

Can someone help-me with those "Small-talk" lines? The plot will happen in a small north american-town, something like in the series Twin peaks.
It can be any NPC, like a old woman, a young girl, a police officer... You know, just random people...
Give the characters a life outside the main story and have them talk about it. Basically, give them their own mini-stories over the course of the game.

Maybe x and y are dating. Over the course of the game they break up only to get back together at the end.
A police officer makes a bad call and has to deal with the fallout from it.
The local toyshop owner is waiting on a shipment of a toy that a lot of parents are trying to get for their children, which finally comes in at the end, or mid-way through the game.
A married couple is expecting a child and as the pregnancy goes along, slowly talk more about the child than their own lives before it.
A new family moves in to a house and slowly adjusts to the town, making friends.
A family grieves the loss of a family member.

Simple, small things that happen in life. You can have people talk about those people or the people themselves talk.

Maybe an old woman doesn't like to talk about herself but her neighbours are nosey and want to know more about her. After a while you learn that half the rumours that abound about her are false and she's really just a lonely old woman. Or maybe she was a spy in her youth or used to own an aeroplane.