[RGSS] (REQUEST) COUNTING GAME OVERS IN AN EXTERNAL FILE

Pages: 1
Okay, so I admit, I'm a complete noob when it comes to scripting in RGSS, so I have no idea how the syntax works, but I do have some programming experience here and there so I kinda have an idea of how to do this, sorta.

Basically, I want to be able to count the amount of times a particular savefile gets a gameover. I figure the best way would be by outputting something to a text file with some data that can possibly be read back later.

so far I guess it would sorta look like this:

(writing)
-game over codeblock here
-open gameovercounter(savefilenumber).txt
-write a special line start indicator, map location(x,y,ID) and a newline to gameovercounter(savefilenumber).txt
-close gameovercounter.txt
-end game over codeblock

(reading)
-open gameovercounter(savefilenumber).txt
-count the number of lines that start with the special line start indicator and put that in an in-game variable to be used

or (don't really need to have this one, but it might be nice)
(called in certain rooms)
-check for an entry in this room in gameovercounter(savefilenumber).txt

I'd imagine this would be something fairly doable, since there are ways to read and write a file, I just don't know how to do it yet. Thank you.
(yes, I realize this is a double-post, but there is a status update here)

Okay, so I've set out on trying to learn this scripting language and solve this thing.
So far, I've figured out a couple of things here and there to help with editing small stuff. Also, more importantly, I found a handy looking script that will output a file and allow me to add stuff to it.
The issue now though, is getting to call the things I want. I can get the functions to work within a script event, but sticking the stuff in a package that can be called later is something I haven't figured out yet. Here's my code:
class Gameover_Counter

def initialize #let's start this baby up

#FileTest.exist?("content/log.ath")