EDITING DEFAULT SCRIPTS - ETHICAL?

Pages: first 12 next last
I've seen a lot of conflicting opinions on this subject for years now: whether or not its ethical to edit the default scripts in RPG Maker.

To give you a bit of a background about myself: I am not a coder, and my programming knowledge is extremely minimal. But it's just enough where I can read and make edits to existing scripts and write very basic lines of code. As a result, I sometimes make edits to the RTP scripts to achieve things that there might not be a script out there for, or the only script that exists is conflicting and/or does ten other things I don't need.

So I've never really seen a problem with doing it, and the consensus seems to be that it's "allowed, but frowned upon". What do you think? Is editing default scripts a no-no in your book?
The notion that editing the original RM scripts is bad is far out there I can't wrap my head around it. My whole understanding of RPG Maker is a middling engine that's super easy to get into and use and being able to make small backend changes with big results was one of the key features of adding scripting in XP.

It'd be like getting mad somebody edited some RTP tiles to better fit a game's specific use-case.
Craze
why would i heal when i could equip a morningstar
whoever told you that is fucking stupid
Versalia
must be all that rtp in your diet
Can you please show me a single example of controversy about this because holy shit this is the nonnest of nonissues
In hindsight, making a forum thread with no documentation or proof and basing it on assumptions was a lousy idea.
Kloe
I lost my arms in a tragic chibi accident
Well, I'd say it's not a bad thing but I kinda get why people maaaaay get mad but it seems silly. Though you could just use a script to overwrite the default, but if it's easier to edit the default scripts, I think that's fine!
Edit: I couldn't phrase it well, but I meant basically what Nova said bellow :D
Red_Nova