[RMVX ACE] NEED SOME HELP WITH TILESETS

Pages: 1
I am working on a survival horror type game but I am not very good at spiriting and my custom tilesets leave much to be desired. I am sure with time, I can perfect it. I am not looking for someone to do the work for me but to help me out and give me some pointers.

To give you an idea on what I am working on. The game is based around an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation (Genesis 7x19) where the crew is de-evolved by a virus that turned on all of their genes. In the episode, Picard is pursued by Worf who has been de-evolved into a primitive Klingon and the concept I thought would make a good survival horror in the vein of Resident Evil or Silent Hill. The game takes place entirely on a ship and that is what the tilesets I am making revolve around.

To help, I am altering the tilesets that come with the program so I get proportions right. For example, here is the item tileset I am editing with items that will decorate the interior of the rooms as well as LCARS panels and doors. I still have some work to do with it. I figured several of the stock sprites are usable because crew members can decorate their quarters how ever they please. I just need to make some more tables and chairs.

and here is my wall tileset

But this is what I get when I try to construct a scene to test my tileset

I dunno what I did wrong. I want to be able to put the vertical panels next to the doors but can't.
At a glance looks like you need an extra layer in that map.
SunflowerGames
The most beautiful user on RMN!

Did you purposely want the parallax to be in the background behind your tileset?
For some reason when trying to tweek things in Photoshop, it wants to be transparent. I'll have to do a solid color layer underneath the tiles.
SunflowerGames

I haven't used photoshop, so I can't tell you what your doing wrong.
Gimp might be the way :)