AVOIDING STEREOTYPES.

Pages: 1
So taking a break from Steel Spirit SaGa. I've decided to work on a short dark fantasy style game. One of the main characters is black, how can I avoid turning him into the stereotypical 'magical negro'? Normally I skirt around the subject of race in my writing to avoid these kind of cliches, but I feel that if I want to advance as a writer I need to tackle this.
For that specific idea, don't have him exist solely to advance the plot for characters who aren't Black, usually through magical means. BLAMMO, success

In general, there are some pretty straightforward steps you can take that reduce huge chunks of stress and problems:

1) Go read/watch/play stuff made by Black folks. You'll get a way better idea of what non-stereotypical Black characters look like when they show up, and be supporting creators/publishers if you give them $$$ (or like, idk, comments or something if it's a free thing). I don't know your media preferences so i got no suggestions off the top of my head, but this is a thing you can google for. Like here's one thing that has some Dark Fantasy in it but idk how much you like reading or would be interested

2) Have multiple Black characters. A singular character from X group will likely be the only time X group is shown, and thus under more scrutiny than if you have more than one.