CUSTOM GAME ENGINE

Pages: 1
I'm a programmer and game engineer. I've been working on this OpenGL multicore open-source multiplatform game engine called the WeaponSoul engine. It will be designed with the RPG-creator in mind, but you can make other things with it.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/weaponsoul/

I was thinking that... For a good exercise I should reverse-engineer the data files. It appears the data isn't encrypted and the format is pretty straightforward. The only problem I expect to have is with the event commands. I was going to make it so that if a file called RPG_RT.ldb exists, it will be played back. I've already written tile systems, collision, and everything. Writing the engine itself, at least for me, is several orders of magnitude easier than writing the tools like the actual RPG Maker itself.

I think this might be fun do conquer my past and go beyond... or just screw around!

Anyway, here's the advantages of having an engine like this:

- Open-source helps kill bugs fast.
- Works on Linux and Macs
- Battle system is whatever you want
- Can add features

I doubt I'll get very far, but I think it's worth a try. This project is actually alot like writing an Emulator.
What are you writing it in?
All in C.

Here's parts of what I've been working on for the engine:
http://www.dreamincode.net/forums/blog/~wolfcoder/index.php?cat=92&st=5

Here's a download of the rougher engine Alpha-2. It might jiggle or flicker on some system, but usually it runs just fine.
The latest version is the much, much, much better Alpha 4.
http://www.dreamincode.net/forums/blog/~wolfcoder/index.php?showentry=1314

It's just a test of the engine.
Hurray for OpenGL!

It's nice to see someone creating their own engine even if you don't end up finishing it.
Alot of people keep saying "OMG OMG it would be so awesome, 24-bit color, higher resolutions, custom battle/menu/everything! if only you'll finish it which i doubt" but they also don't like XP or VX for some reason.