HAVING TROUBLE WITH MOVE ROUTE

Pages: 1
Greetings!

I'm relatively new to this and apologize in advance if this is a simple solution my thick head is just missing.

I'm trying to set up a Move Route event for an NPC. The problem I'm having is that despite the directions I've given them (see the pic below). They just keep walking in a straight line to the bottom of the screen. Any ideas?

P.S. The image is a mock up. I had it on Auto Run in the real thing, not Action Button.

This is the event.

This is where poor Carmichael winds up:

He's trying to execute the first "move down" over and over again. There's a command like Wait until Moved or something like that that you need to put at the end of the movement command so that he actually waits before continuing. Someone more familiar with XP can probably give you the exact name.
Are you trying to have him move randomly, or do you want very specific movements? Meaning: there are two places where you can determine your NPC's movement, if you want them custom made. The first place is where you have just set them, but the other way is under the autonomous movement. In your picture you have it set to fixed, but if you were to change it to custom then the move route button will be available and you can determine movements there. Also in the SET MOVE ROUTE option sheet there will be a repeat, which enables your character to go through all of the required steps and then starts all over again.
The second way is what you have in your example, if you want your character to move in a specific way, and then stop, you need to set the WAIT. Choose the amount of frames that you feel would be long enough for your character to complete his steps, and then you will have to set another command to stop. Also be careful and be exact to the steps you want your character to make or you will find him going in a direction you really weren't looking for him to go.