'ELLOOO! I'M KATEH, AND I'M ENTIRELY NEW TO THE FACT...

Pages: 1
...That there are ways for an individual to create a videogame with out a college degree! ^^;;
Anywhoo, Hello everyone!
The reason I joined here is to learn how to make videogames. I have very little experience with code and some experience with Inkscape and GIMP.
I don't have a lot of money or a way to pay online, so it makes obtaining things difficult...

I-- I have a big dream, too. I have this world inside that I have daydreaming and adding ideas to for 7 years now that I so badly want to get down in some shape or form. Writing seems inadequate, and a manga might work... But what about a videogame? It's been a daunting thing for me to fully conceptualize into a form for others to enjoy.
So I guess... I'd love a mentor who can help me learn the skills I need. I'm hoping to make some friends, but I have to focus on my goal: I want to grasp my dreams and have them become real. I don't want to wake up and find that what I want isn't there because it isn't real. So that's how I chose my username: GraspingDreams.

If you guys see me, cheer me on. I want so badly to follow through for once and make my dreams real.
So I guess now the question is-- Where do I start?
You came at a pretty good time, actually. Recently, kentona wrote an article that may serve as a good start:

http://rpgmaker.net/articles/802/

And this would be a good second read:

http://rpgmaker.net/articles/235/
Hello there! I hope you'll enjoy your stay at RMN.
You should start out with RPG Maker 2003 since it's free easy to use.
There is no coding involved, so it'll be easy to learn.

Once you feel that you've explored RPG Maker 2003 enough,
save up some money and purchase VX Ace from here.