HOW TO GET RPG MAKER 2003 DO THINGS OTHER THAN RPGS.

Pages: first 123 next last
Bluntly, I'm a newbie to the RPG Maker system. I like RPGs, but I'm not into turn based combat anymore. I want to do something different, but still a role-playing game.

So, what would I have to do to make a more action rpg type of game.
Also, I was wondering about if other genres of games could be added in as well.
As far as I know, I'd just have to somehow wire npcs into throwing projectiles or doing contact damage- and somehow wire the status/item system into doing effects outside of battle.

Any tips would be welcome, and greatly appreciated. As I delve through some literature, I'll revise the above statements to be more specific.
Best tip anyone will give you in this topic: Don't use RM2003 for anything other than an RPG/Adventure/Puzzler

Seriously you're better off with gamemaker, construct, IGM, ika, etc. than an RPG Maker which favor turn based (and especially turn based type puzzles/minigames). The only reason why people make action games on RM2003 is for strange e-cred or making a game with flawed mechanics.
I agree with Darken. Avarice by Solitayre and Anaryu utilized a sweet action RPG system. If you like the RM system, try a script in VX.
KingArthur
( ̄▽ ̄)ノ De-facto operator of the unofficial RMN IRC channel.
http://www.queenscourt.org/games/Aurora%20Wing.rar
http://www.queenscourt.org/games/DeusCard.rar

Two very good examples of games that do what RM was never intended to do in a brilliant manner. Without copypasta scripts for that matter if you're thinking of moving to RMXP or RMVX.

As the coding might suggest, though, such a feat will be difficult. I wouldn't suggest it for people new to RM.
KA those work because they were both turn based (then again I never understood DeusCard, at all). But yeah.

post=116936
I agree with Darken. Avarice by Solitayre and Anaryu utilized a sweet action RPG system. If you like the RM system, try a script in VX.